The Kitchen Rug

I want a kitchen rug.  How did I come to this conclusion?

I should tell you, I’ve never been to a house with a rug in the kitchen.  When I came across photos in on Young House Love and Bower Power I was a little taken a back.  A rug is just asking for Fred’s signature paw prints.  I’m pleasantly suprised to report that natural fibre or outdoor rugs are available for kitchens, so crumbs and dirt can be brushed or hosed off outside!

Apart from being functional, the kitchen rug also gives colour and texture to an otherwise practical, plain area.

Pretty + functional = I’m sold.

Here are some of my favourite examples:

Image from Pinterest (Amanda Worthington)

Image from paloma81.blogspot.com

Image from Young House Love

Image from Bower Power Blog

My current pick for our kitchen is this rug from Shades of Light:

Image from Shades of Light

Unfortunately for me, the company doesn’t have a listing for international shipping, so getting this baby to Australia is my first hurdle.

Leave a Reply

